PIFAC – Principal Investigator/Faculty Advisory Committee

One of the major goals behind the plan and model for the shared-service entity that now manages pre- and post-award functions for sponsored research at Texas A&M—Texas A&M System Sponsored Research Services (SRS)—was to establish a governance structure to ensure the delivery of quality services to the research community, while maintaining a responsive and cost-effective administrative environment. The Principal Investigator/Faculty Advisory Committee (PIFAC) serves as one of the main governing bodies.

The objective behind PIFAC is to represent the interests and concerns of the research community in the arena of sponsored research administration. The committee will provide direct input to the SRS leadership team and system member CEOs on matters affecting SRS operations, including enhancements to customer service and the establishment of best practices. The current PIFAC members are:

Dr. Terry L. Thomas, Chair
Professor, Department of Biology, College of Science
Texas A&M University
tlthomas@tamu.edu
Representative for the A&M System Office of Research

Dr. Dean C. Alberson
Assistant Agency Director
Roadside Safety and Physical Security Division
Texas A&M Transportation Institute
d-alberson@tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M Transportation Institute

Dr. Ergun Akleman
Professor, College of Architecture
Texas A&M University
ergun.akleman@gmail.com
Representative for Texas A&M University Faculty Senate

Dr. Ronald D. Boyd
Distinguished Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering
Prairie View A&M University
rdboyd@pvamu.edu
Representative for Prairie View A&M University

Dr. Chris Higgins
Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences, College of Science and Technology
Tarleton State University
higgins@tarleton.edu
Representative for Tarleton State University

Dr. Kim D. Jones

Director of the South Texas Environmental Institute Professor and Chairman
Department of Environmental Engineering, Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering
Texas A&M University-Kingsville
kjones@tamuk.edu
Representative for Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Dr. Paul Montagna
Chair and Professor, Harte Research Institute
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi
paul.montagna@tamucc.edu
Representative for Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Dr. Joseph Newton
Dean, College of Science
Texas A&M University
jnewton@tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M University Council of Deans

Dr. Lawrence Rauchwerger

Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Dwight Look College of Engineering
Texas A&M University
rwerger@cs.tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station

Dr. Gregory D. Reinhart
Professor and Head, Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Texas A&M University
gdr@tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M AgriLife Research

Dr. Carol A. Rice
Extension Program Leader for Family Development and Resource Management
Professor and Extension Health Specialist
Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service
crice@ag.tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service

Dr. Deborah C. Simmons
Professor, Department of Education Psychology, College of Education & Human Development
Texas A&M University
dsimmons@tamu.edu
Representative for Texas A&M University

Dr. Niall C. Slowey
Professor, Department of Oceanography, College of Geosciences
Texas A&M University
slowey@ocean.tamu.edu
Representative for Council of Principal Investigators

Dr. Farida Sohrabji
Professor, Department of Neuroscience & Experimental Therapeutics, College of Medicine
Texas A&M Health Science Center
sohrabji@medicine.tamhsc.edu
Representative for Texas A&M Health Science Center

See a full overview of PIFAC.

Committee Notices